College Governance

Governance of Fairholme College Toowoomba

The Board of Directors in its governance of Fairholme College Toowoomba and in accord with its charter as a College of The Presbyterian Church of Queensland is responsible for setting the strategic direction, monitoring the financial management and performance of the College generally and ensuring appropriate risk management and compliance controls are in place to meet those responsibilities.

The Board is comprised of up to nine members nominated annually by the outgoing Board, two members nominated by The Parents’ and Friends’ Association, and appointed by the Assembly of The Presbyterian Church of Queensland; the Moderator, Clerk of Assembly and Treasurer of The Presbyterian Church of Queensland; and the Principal.

The Board sets policy, approves the annual budget and appoints the Principal who is responsible for the day to day operations and management of the College, within these policies and the budget. The College Chaplain and the Business Manager are also appointed by the Board.

Board Members

Chairman: Mr Ian C Andersen

Deputy Chairman: Mr Ian D Walton

Principal: Dr Linda Evans - EdD. MA, BEd. Studies, DipTeach, MACE, MACEL

Moderator, The Presbyterian Church of Queensland (1 July 2020 to 30 June 2021): Rev. Dr. Philip John Strong

Treasurer, The Presbyterian Church of Queensland: Mr Paul Cotton

Clerk Of Assembly, The Presbyterian Church of Queensland: Rev Stuart Hoadley

  • Rev. Peter Barson
  • Mr Graham L Burt
  • Mr Jamie Cross
  • Mr David Johnston
  • Mrs Jeanette M Loxton (Nee Clewett)  BEng (Hons), MIEaust, AAICD, PGD Divinity & Mission
  • Ms Alaina Macdonald - MAAPD, BA Archaeology/Anthropology
  • Dr Katie Murray (Nee Sutton) LLB (Hons)
  • Mrs Deb Weber

Secretary to the Board

Mr Mark Freeman FCPA, MAICD

Meetings of the Board

The Board discharges its responsibilities through the conduct of its regular meetings, and the meetings of its Committees. The Board normally meets ten times per year, February to November.

In addition, each year the Board of Directors meet for a weekend retreat where they engage in professional learning directly associated with their governance role in areas such as strategic planning, risk management and compliance. Further professional learning opportunities are undertaken throughout the year as part of the Board meeting agenda and also through short courses offered through external organisations such as Independent Schools Queensland.

The 2021 Meeting Dates are:

Board Committees

Several Board Committees are in operation and report on a regular basis to the Board. These include:

Executive Committee: Chair Mr Ian Andersen

Compliance and Risk Management Committee: Chair Mr Jamie Cross

Nominations Committee: Chair Mr Ian Andersen

The Executive Committee and the Compliance and Risk Management Committee generally meet 10 times per year. Other committees meet as needed. The recommendations and reports of these committees are tabled and discussed at each Board Meeting.

Directors with Special Portfolios

From time to time the Board appoints members to oversee specific portfolios that are relevant to current issues in education or governance.

Audit and Finance Director: Mr Ian Andersen