College News

Triple Crown TSSS Success

A ‘Triple Crown’ in the Toowoomba Secondary Sport competition occurs when a school on the Darling Downs wins all three major Interschool Championships (Swimming, Cross Country and Athletics) in the same year.

On Thursday 27 August the 2015 Fairholme Athletics team secured a ‘Triple Crown’ for Fairholme College when they won the TSSS Athletics Championships for the 24th consecutive year, by a margin of over 130 points. Fairholme was awarded Age Champion in every age group bar one, and Lilli Anderson and Taylor McCosker were joint winners of the Owen Janestski Trophy for best female athlete of the Meet.

Fairholme have held the Chronicle Cup Trophy for Championship School (Athletics) in an unbeaten run since 1992. The undefeated period of 24 years is now one of the longest periods in Queensland School sport history.

Our Triple Crown journey started in March at Milne Bay when the first in line to achieve a TSSS win was the Fairholme swim squad. They returned victorious from the TSSS ‘A’ Schools Swim meet for a 14th consecutive year. During the 14 years, 145 individual Fairholme girls have contributed directly to the outcome as members of winning teams.

The second TSSS victory came in May when our 50-strong Cross Country squad took the championship and received the Overall Darling Downs Girls School Team Trophy at Kearney’s Springs. Did you know that Cross country has been won by Fairholme on 25 occasions since the shields’ inception in 1978?

It goes without saying that we are exceptionally proud of the students, the Coaching staff and the parents who all commit endless hours of training and support in order to aspire to these remarkable goals. Once achieved, the victory belongs to every person, in every squad and we celebrate this achievement alongside you all.

Photo Gallery